You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of XDforum.com    

XD Forum > XD Forums > XD Forum >

Plz Help Me Choose: Mod 2 or XD-M

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2017, 04:21 AM   #1
RevV

Liked 17 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default Plz Help Me Choose: Mod 2 or XD-M

Hello all. I posted this thread on the Springfield forum but then thought I might get some different perspectives here.

I am looking for a new RANGE gun. For CC, I use a 3.3 inch XD Mod 2 in .45 ACP or a XDs in 9 mm, so this new gun will NOT be a carry piece.

While I prefer .45 ACP, this range gun will be 9 mm because the ammo is cheaper.

I'm no professional, but I've shot my share of pistols over the years: 1911s, Glocks, Sigs, Walthers, S&Ws, Steyers. My all time favorite handgun is the XD Mod 2. They are accurate, rugged, dependable, reasonably affordable; they fit my hand better than any pistol I've shot, and I shoot them well.

For the new RANGE gun I am leaning heavily toward either a XD Mod 2 Tactical (5 inch bbl.) or a XD-M (5.25 inch bbl.).

I've read far and wide and the consensus seems to be that it comes down to personal preference, and one cannot go wrong with either. The XD Mod 2 does feel better in my hand than the XD-M does.

I have 2 questions for the community:
1. Do you know of any reason for choosing the Mod 2 over the XD-M, or vice versa?

2. In the XD Mod 2 / XD-M price range, is there any other 5 or so inch bbl.
9 mm that anyone would strongly recommend I consider?

On the Springfield forum, Shooter asked me if I wanted to branch out and get a gun I don't have, like a 1911.

Here is my answer.